Monday, 30 July 2012


MPs accused of graft should resign-Mbatia

30th July 2012
James Mbatia
NCCR-Mageuzi national chairman James Mbatia has urged legislators accused of involvement in corrupt practices to step down before they are identified and interrogated by the parliamentary standing committee on privileges, ethics and powers.
He sounded the call at a news conference in Dodoma yesterday.
The NCCR-Mageuzi statement came a day after National Assembly Speaker Anne Makinda dissolved the parliamentary standing committee on Energy and Minerals, ordering its members to be quizzed by privilege, ethics and powers committee chaired by Hassan Ngwilizi.
He advised NCCR-Mageuzi legislators, who knew that their names featured on the list of corrupt MPs lined up for questioning to “pack and go” before they are identified by the House Speaker.
Meanwhile, Mbatia, who is also an appointed MP has issued a seven-day ultimatum to Parliament Speaker Makinda to reveal names of legislators accused of engaging in corrupt practices.
At the same press conference, Kigoma North MP Mosses Machali told reporters that the party was planning to table in the House a private motion on MPs’ dirty practices, if Makinda failed to reveal names of those accused in the scam.

Over the past week, members of the dissolved committee have been accused by other MPs of receiving bribes from oil marketing companies that wanted to be awarded the tender of supplying heavy funnel oil to Independent Power Tanzania Limited (IPTL).
Makinda reached the decision of dissolving the committee in response to Namtumbo legislator Vita Kawawa’s request.
Members forming the dissolved committee include, Seleman Zedi (chairman from CCM), Diana Chilolo (vice chairman from CCM), John Mnyika (Ubungo-Chadema), Yusuf Khamis (Nungwi- CUF), Mariam Kisangi (special seat-CCM), Catherine Magige (special seat-CCM), Abia Nyakabari (Special Seat-CCM), Charles Mwijage (Muleba North-CCM), and Yussuf Nassir (Korogwe Urban-CCM).
Others are Christopher Ole-Sendeka (Simanjiro-CCM), Dr Festus Limbu (Magu Urban- CCM), Shaffin Sumar (Tabora North-CCM), Lucy Mayenga (special seat-CCM), Josephine Chagulla (special seat-CCM), Mwanamrisho Abama (special seat-Chadema), David Sillinde (Mbozi-West-Chadema), Suleiman Suleiman (Kishapu-CCM), Kisyeri Chambiri (Babati Urban-CCM), Munde Abudallah (special seat-CCM), Sara Ally (special seat-CCM), Vick Kamata (special seat-CCM), Mbarouk Ali (Wete-CUF), and Pamela Pallangyo (secretary).
In the recent past accusing fingers were also pointed at the parliamentary Local Authorities Accounts Committee (LAAC), alleging its members to have been bribed in indorsing districts’ financial reports.

No comments:

Post a Comment